Home

“flash mob meditation” or…
“to dance in a fountain and burn your feet”
(a train of thought reflection on a curious day)

I was gathering my things
not wanting to take too much with me
wait
pause,
sun. I should put on some protective lotion..
grab keys
purple paper
black pen
Scribble “will you dance with us?
Why not?”

and “dance for joy! Why not?”

grab the purple sign sheets
the thick black pen
water, to close the door right as it turned 1pm
this was the get-ready-go moment
for
some
spontaneous public dancing

There was an eleven year old waiting there for me
sweet boy who’d dance with any moment.
I was in a rush to get there.
He’s an eleven year old who i’ve known
with tea cup sets and pink gellies
always teaching me about curiosity and acceptance.

I was not sure how many would show up
some nice new friends had said they would
but alas, tongues say one thing
and feet say another.
But I told myself simply as I biked there:
even if its just ben and I, i’ll be happy.

down tree-lined streets made wide for horses
thank you goddess of traffic control
for those nicely timed clear intersections
turn a corner
sound in the distance
sounds like a train.

arrive to mason and
there.
Thanks.
The longest train i’ve ever seen go through this town.
Minutes are ticking by.
get a text “ben is here”
and all I could reply with was,
“grr! I’m stuck behind a train”

finally the train no longer stops me
I jump back on my bike.
I’m nervous
i’ve never done this before
this orchestrated public dancing
later I would hear that someone watching me dance
spoke into his phone and said
“there is some girl down here
in old town
tripping out on drugs”

I wish I could tell them:
no, nothing mind altering
besides putting myself out there
risking my bare feet to down town pavement
no drugs besides maybe the hot noontime sun
a little adrenaline sure,
some endorphins from the
exuber-dance!

All in all it was a great time
some complete strangers gave in to smiles
some even into little dances with me
I heard “that looks fun”
and “ooh I want to dance”
thats the energy I want to channel
excite electrify engage

But ben. This poem is really a thank you letter to you.
You and I held it down
and I am forever grateful that someone
as young as you has taught me so much.
you’ve tried brand new experiences with me,
like improvisation workshops and the plotting of a flash mob
you’ve stuck with me through these leaps of faith
and all I want for you
is to keep up your beautiful energy.
Shape it. Share it. Savor it.
your keen mind and playful step
are precious to many more than me.

I have a travelling energy
i’d like to harness.
my feet are burning to dance
and thus they are
my access to the present moment
simply-
through my body
space
and silence

“i don’t know exactly what a prayer is.
i do know how to pay attention, how to fall down
into the grass, how to kneel down in the grass,
how to be idle and blessed, how to stroll through the fields,
which is what i have been doing all day.
tell me, what else should i have done?’

(mary oliver)

I don’t know exactly what a prayer is
I do know how to pay attention, how to burn my feet
dancing on the sidewalk, how to laugh in a fountain
when no one is around, to walk the streets with a smile
which is what I’ve tried to do all day
Tell me, what else should I have done?

out there today,
ben wrote a sign that said:
“dance with us! This may be a one-time opportunity dance flash mob!”

I wrote another.
Simply:
“dance,
beautiful!”

I’m praying and dancing toward something new
some kind of
political spirituality
maybe
of streets full of plants and animals
dancing to our new music

what am I, you ask?
anarchist? communist? humanist?
I’m an animal. And I believe in animals
and I honor animals
and it is our right to DANCE.
HA!

Leave a Reply

